Places to see

The city of Aurangabad was founded by Malik Ambar, the Prime Minister of Murtaza Nizam Shah II, in 1610, on the site of a village, Khirki. When Fateh Khan, Malik Ambar's son succeeded the throne in 1626, he named the city 'Fatehpur'. In 1653, when Aurangzeb became the Viceroy of the Deccan, he made it his capital, and renamed it Aurangabad. A region that has been inhabited since the Stone Ages, Aurangabad has seen several dynasties come and go, absorbing the culture of each into itself.

Maurya rule heralded the advent of Buddhism in the state of Maharashtra. The earliest caves at Ajanta and Pithalkora were excavated in the 2nd century BC, during the Satvahana era. Paithan, then known as Pratishthana, was an important trade centre at the time. Buddhism flowered during the Chalukya period, which consequently saw the mushrooming of many viharas (monasteries), and chaityas (chapels), that were later excavated at Aurangabad, Ajanta and Ellora. Later, the Rashtrakutas built many temples, significantly, the Kailasa temple at Ellora, an unparalleled piece of ancient Indian architecture.

Some of the places of worship
Ajanta & Ellora, Maharashtra
Aurangabad, Maharashtra
Bhimbetka, Madhya Pradesh 
Khajuraho, Madhya Pradesh
Orchha, Madhya Pradesh
Shivpuri, Madhya Pradesh
Belur, Karnataka
Badami, Karnataka
Vidisha, Madhya Pradesh 
Elephanta Caves, Maharashtra
Bhojpur, Madhya Pradesh 
Mandu, Madhya Pradesh 
Sanchi, Madhya Pradesh 
Halebid, Karnataka 
Hampi, Karnataka 
Buddhist Relics, Orissa