Khajuraho Temple  

Khajuraho, the place of culmination of the Central Indian building style, is situated in the Bundelkand area,44 km northwest of Panna in Madhya Pradesh. The temples of khajuraho were mainly built between the 9th and 11th centuries under the active patraonage of the powerful Chandela Kings, Khajuraho group of temples is the refined expression of the Indo-Aryan architectural genius. They stand on a lofty platform-terrace with a huge basement storey with beautifully ornamented mouldings. Over this stable base rests the Jangha or solid walls alternated with voids of the inner compartment-Sanctum Sanctorum, assembly hall and the entrance portico. The loftiness of the Khajuraho temple is enhanced by smaller replica turrets grouped around the main tower. The exterior decoration of the temple with parallel friezes pulsates with warmth and vigour. The ceilings are supported parallel friezes pulsates with warmth and vigour. The ceilings are supported by four heavily sculptured pillars. The temples have graceful proportion and unique surface decoration. The temples of Khajuraho belong to the Shiva, Vaishnav and Jain sects but in spite of divergent sectarian affiliation, the dominant architectural and sculptural schemes are homogeneous. 

The sculptures include five types:

(1) cult images

(2) family deities

(3) divine nymphs

(4) erotic themes

(5) animals. 

The erotic sculptures are symbolic of cosmic love. The philosophy behind it is that life's effort is to fight decay and death, and this challenge is symbolised in the mystic union of Shiva and Shakti. Wealth, longevity and spiritual bliss, it was believed, came naturally to those who performed the rituals with faith after proper initiation. 

Some of the Monuments of India are
Taj Mahal (Agra)
Konark Sun Temple (Orissa)  
Mahabalipuram Temples (Chennai)
Jaislmer Fort (Rajasthan)
Hemis Gompa (Ladakha)
Mehrangarh Fort (Jodhpur)
Victoria Memorial (Calcutta)
Sarnath (Varanasi U.P)
Qutab minar (Delhi)
Meenakshi Temple (Tamil Nadu)  
Jama- Masjid (Delhi) 
Ajanta Ellora (Maharshtra) 
Red Fort (Delhi) 
Udaipur Palace (Udaipur) 
Golden Temple (Amrtisar) 
Khajuraho Temple 
Sanchi Stupa (Bhopal) 
Charminar (Hyderabad) 
Nalanda (Bihar)