Surrounded by hills on three sides, Rishikesh is located on the right bank of the Ganga, at its confluence with the Chandrabhaga stream. One of the holiest places on the upward pilgrimages to the Himalayas, Rishikesh is, where Raibhya Rishi did penance to please God, who appeared as Hrishikesh, hence the name, Rishikesh. Millions of Hindus come here every year, to absolve themselves of their sins by bathing in the holy Ganges.

Rishikesh abounds in stories of renunciation, meditation, penance and salvation. It has developed into one of the better known centres, for schools of yoga and meditation. Rishikesh is also significant as the trekking base, to the Himalayan shrines of Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath and Badrinath. 

Places To See  

Laxman Jhoola

5 kms north of Rishikesh, is the spot where Sri Laxman, is said to have performed Tapa. The Laxman temple was built in his memory. Till 1889, there was just a hanging jute ropeway without pillars. The same structure was, later, rebuilt with iron ropes.

Neel Kanth Mahadev

The temple, situated at a height of 5,500 ft. above sea level, is about 2 kms from Laxman Jhoola. The trek up to the temple, gives a fantastic wide - angled view of the Himalayan peaks, Babhar forests and the plain below.

Bharat Mandir

The oldest temple in Rishikesh - the black statue of Vishnu, here, is supposed to have been consecrated by Sri Sankaracharya, in the 9th century. The event is commemorated, during Vasant Panchami, to mark the onset of spring. 

When to Visit 

The best season to visit is between May and October/November. 

Some of the most exhilarating Pilgrimage in India include 
Ajmer Sharief (Rajasthan)
Badrinath (Uttar Pradesh)
Rishikesh (Uttar Pradesh)
Haridwar (Uttar Pradesh)
Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu)
Kanyakumari (Tamil Nadu)
Trichy (Tamil Nadu)
Mahabalipuram (Tamil Nadu)
Velangani (Tamil Nadu)
Konark (Orissa)
Amarnath (Jammu & Kashmir)
Tabo (Himachal Pradesh)
Kangra Valley (Himachal Pradesh)
Pawapuri (Bihar)
Sikh shrines (Amritsar)
The Modhera Sun Temple (Gujarat)
Pushkar (Rajasthan)
Allahabad (Uttar Pradesh)
Kedarnath (Uttar Pradesh) 
Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh) 
Rameswaram (Tamil Nadu) 
Tanjavur (Tamil Nadu)
Basilica of Bom Jesus (Goa)
Bhubaneshwar (Orissa)
Puri (Orissa)
Vaishno Devi (Jammu & Kashmir)
Buddhist sites (Himachal Pradesh)
Bodhgaya (Bihar)
Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh)
Shirdi (Maharashtra)
Madurai(Tamil Nadu)